South Africa wins toss and opts to bowl in second T20 against India #South #Africa #wins #toss #opts #bowl #T20 #India

GQEBERHA, South Africa (AP) — South Africa captain Aiden Markram won the toss and opted to bowl in the second T20 against India on Tuesday.

The first T20 at Durban was washed out on Sunday, and weather could impact the second game as well as rain fell prior to the toss. Short boundaries at St. George’s Park could be tempting for both sets of batters.

The third and final T20 will be played in Johannesburg on Thursday.

South Africa is hosting India for three T20s, followed by three ODIs and then a two-test series. The three-match ODI series will be contested from Dec. 17-21.

Suryakumar Yadav continues to lead India in the T20 series, in the continued absence of stand-in skipper Hardik Pandya who injured his ankle during the World Cup.

Senior batters Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli are also absent from India’s T20 and ODI squads for this tour.

Ruturaj Gaikwad, who scored a T20 hundred against Australia, was left out because of an illness, with Shubman Gill to open the innings with Yashaswi Jaiswal.

Both sides have only five international T20s — including this series — to figure out their plans for the 2024 T20 World Cup in West Indies and the U.S.


South Africa: Matthew Breetzke, Reeza Hendricks, Aiden Markram (captain), Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Tristan Stubbs, Marco Jansen, Andile Phehlukwayo, Gerald Coetzee, Lizaad Williams, Tabraiz Shamsi

India: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav (captain), Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar


AP cricket:

#South #Africa #wins #toss #opts #bowl #T20 #India

To assist you in gaining a more comprehensive understanding of the topic, we invite you to explore the provided: click here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *